Parecon talk

Short notice about this, but I only found out about it myself yesterday.

On Tuesday at 7pm there will be talk at the University of Birmingham,
Muirhead Tower (R21), Lecture Theatre G15.

Parecon stands for ‘participatory economics’, a type of democratic
economy proposed as an alternative to capitalism. The leader in the
field is Michael Albert and it’s him that is giving the talk. I saw him
speak on Saturday and it was very entertaining and informative.

I thought that the other SBFC members may be interested as the coop
movement is seen as one which has thinking much in line with Parecon.

If you’re interested in coming but don’t know the university very well
then contact me on lxw799@bham.ac.uk and we can arrange
somewhere to meet up beforehand.

Lucy

